Workplace Bullying and Depression: A Victim’s Story

The St. Petersburg Times recently reported about a workplace bullying victim who suffered major depression and gained 90 pounds in two years as a result of being harassed and abused by a coworker on an ongoing basis.

Jane Soderstrom, a registered nurse who worked at BayCare, went on on medical leave on March 30 after the constant bullying caused her to suffer anxiety disorder, a major depression episode, insomnia, headaches, shakes, and dizziness.

After she finally decided that HR was unable or unwilling to help her, Soderstrom filed a complaint with the Occupational Safety and Health Administration, and her bully was demoted.

Click here to read the entire article.


I’ve rated my boss.  Have you?

2 responses to “Workplace Bullying and Depression: A Victim’s Story

  1. Such a sad story. I have had many targets of bullying in my practice with a few I’m working with right now. I am authoring a new book on the subject with a scale to measure types of bullying and thus stratify responses and hopefully create more action plans than exist now. Thanks for posting this.

  2. I’m trying my best to seek help with my depression. I filed an EEOC charge against my Ex-employer for discrimination and retaliation for filing a labor claim against them. The discrimination has been going on for over 6 months. I worked with a group of white co-workers whom are all golfing buddies and they all grew up together. These co-workers have known each other for over 30 years, so when I was hired must have been a shock to them. They would not associate with me and started doing nasty things like spreading false rumors to management, bullying me, bumping into me on purpose, sabotaging my work. I have never been reprimanded nor have I ever been written up for poor job performance. I asked my Manager if I could talk to HR about the discrimination and harassment and he said no! Shortly after that I was laid off and they hired another friend of theirs. I’ve been humiliated, depressed, angry, can’t sleep! Chest pains! all because my co-workers did not want me working with them. Can you please tell me what to do!!!!

Leave a Reply

